Skip to main content
Switch to text-only version
Get accessibility information and assistance

Testing for teacher candidates

Teacher candidates must pass certain content tests in order to attain each level of Oregon Teacher Authorization. Find more information about these requirements in the links below. In Oregon, teaching licenses are available for four grade level authorizations, which may be obtained through the following five options at WOU:

  • Early Childhood Only (3 years old to grade 4)
  • Early Childhood/Elementary (3 years old to grade 8)
  • Elementary/Middle (grades 3 to 9)
  • Middle/High (grades 5 to 12)
  • High School Only (grades 9 to 12)

In many cases, test results must be submitted as part of the application process to the College of Education, so it is important to plan ahead to study, take the tests, and obtain results before program deadlines.


More information


Test information - Details about each required test, who has to take them and links to test web sites

Test preparation - Gateway to study sessions and resources to help boost scores


**IMPORTANT! As of Sept. 1, 2010, the Praxis II test is no longer valid for most content areas, but is replaced by the NES Test. For Praxis II scores to be accepted by the Oregon Teacher Standards and Practices Commission for these content areas, you must have passed before Sept. 1, 2010. See for details.**



Very helpful tips:


Before getting started, we highly recommend that you discuss your testing options with our caring adviser.


Have you already tried and failed to pass a required test? Let's look at your test-taking alternatives.

Please contact Beth Jones, Office of Clinical Practice and Licensure . 503-838-8235 . Education Building Room 202


Other testing questions not answered here?


Division of Teacher Education 503-838-8471 | or e-mail:
Location: Ed 202H