A Club Sport is a student-led organization established through the Campus Recreation Department.  Club Sports are designed to serve those that have in interest in committing to an organized sport or recreational activity while at WOU. Club Sports can be recreational, or instructional in nature. However, most WOU Sport Clubs are competitive and represent Western Oregon University in intercollegiate competition. Club Sports teams regularly participate in scheduled practices, may employ part-time coaches, and many compete against other schools across Oregon, the Pacific Northwest and the nation.

Additionally, Club Sports provide students-officers with a unique learning experience that allows for the development of skills such as team leadership, public relations, fundraising, budgeting, and scheduling. Involvement in a group and team setting creates opportunities to enhance the student´s overall experiences at Western Oregon University.

For more information about each Club Sport, and to join a team go to www.imleagues.com/WOU and click on the “CLUB SPORTS” tab.

What is the difference between Intramural Sports, Club Sports & NCAA Athletics?

Intramural (IM) teams are organized by, and comprised of, students, faculty & staff.  These teams compete against other WOU IM teams in leagues or tournaments organized by the WOU Campus Recreation Department. IM teams typically do not have coaches or regularly scheduled practices. IMs are a “low key” way to participate in organized sports with friends, roommates and/or classmates.

Under the guidance of the Campus Recreation Department, Club Sports teams are managed and run by the teams’ elected student officers. These officers are responsible for adherence to their league or national organization rules, coach selection, travel planning, fundraising, scheduling practices and purchasing equipment/uniforms. Club Sports bridge the gap between Intramural Sports and Intercollegiate Athletics as they are still primarily student-lead but offer the opportunity to represent WOU in intercollegiate competition and compete for conference, regional and national championships.

WOU’s NCAA Athletic teams adhere to the NCAA Division II guidelines, policies, regulations and are managed by the WOU coaches and Athletic Department Administrators.


Club Sports Classifications

Tier I


Generally speaking, Club Sports in Tier I compete against other Universities/Colleges in formal competition, or perform publicly (i.e. Dance Team).

  • Tier I Club Sports typically operate within a governing body (such as a conference or organization) that defines rules for practice/competition, playing season, eligibility for competition, and scheduling.
  • To be considered Tier I, a team must participate in, or publicly perform (i.e. Dance Team) at least five (5) times during the academic year.
  • Tier I teams are expected to hold practice sessions at least twice each week with the primary goal of skill development and preparation for competition.

 

Tier I
Sport Contact Contact Email
Basketball (Men’s) Noah Jones njones15@mail.wou.edu
Dance Team Kayley Kildea kakildea17@mail.wou.edu
Lacrosse (Men’s) Justin Morales jmorales17@wou.edu
Rock Climbing Ryan Kochen rkochen18@mail.wou.edu
Rugby (Men’s) Tim Farring tfarring18@mail.wou.edu
Rugby (Women’s) Nelly Blancas nblancas14@mail.wou.edu
Soccer (Men’s) Adam Kane akane17@mail.wou.edu
Soccer (Women’s) Sarah Texter stexter17@mail.wou.edu
Volleyball (Women’s) Ashley Henderson athenderson17@mail.wou.edu

Tier II


Club Sports in Tier II conduct sport activities with an emphasis placed on recreation and socializing around a common sports interest.

  • Self-directed sport and leisure pursuits
  • May have an occasional team or individual competition
  • Occasional group outings/trips
  • Limited or no travel
  • Moderate administrative support from Campus Recreation

 

Tier II
Sport Contact Contact Email
Running Meg Kassebaum mkassebaum17@mail.wou.edu
Tennis Jacob Bering jbering16@mail.wou.edu
Wrestling Ryan Bibler rbibler17@mail.wou.edu


Annual Renewal
Each club´s classification will be reviewed annually and reflect the club´s overall activities and operations. The classification of each club is independent of their membership status/privileges. Each club is a sponsored student organization under the administration of the Campus Recreation Department. Participation in the club is not a right and privilege may be revoked at any time.

           
Contact

Campus Recreation

(503) 838-9530 | e-mail: hwc@wou.edu | or in person: Directions/Parking