Class notes and in remembrance

Class notes

Pat Edmundson ’58, and her husband, John, celebrated their 60th wedding anniversary.

Jeanne Bridges ’62 reached 50 years at Cummings Elementary School as both a teacher and volunteer.

Dwaine Kronser ’78, ’82 recently retired from his role as the deputy chief information officer for NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center after 32 years of federal service. He now works for InuTeq, LLC.

Wyatt Armstrong ’81 retired from law enforcement in August 2016 after 33 years as a deputy sheriff with the Pierce County Sheriff’s Department in Tacoma.

Brian J. Boquist ’85 was elected as senator into the Oregon State Senate District 12.

Former football defensive back Sean McNabb ’89 was awarded the Cowapa League co-Coach of the Year Award for his work at Scappoose High School.

Terry Evers ’90, ’00, a science teacher at Ewing Young Elementary, was selected as one of two elementary finalists in Oregon for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

David Valenzuela ’93 is now the Three Rivers School District permanent superintendent.

Former track athlete Joseph Dias ’96, oversees the Enterprise Rent-a-Car, Car Sales Chicago operation.

Steve Rosling ’96 has been elected as president of the Portland Metropolitan Association of Realtors Master’s Circle.

Rochelle Farris ’98 has been hired as an assistant at McNary High School’s new college and career center.

Nicole Hancock ’98 received the 2017 Kate Feltham Award, recognizing individuals who have made extraordinary efforts to promote equal rights and opportunities for women and minorities within the legal profession and legal justice system in Idaho.

Former WOU running back and linebacker, David Morrill ’98, was recently inducted to the Scappoose Boosters Hall of Fame.

Dale Primmer ’98 was sworn into the Pendleton City Council as city councilor.

KGW reporter Katherine Cook ’02 was named one of Portland’s Most Memorable Media Stars of all time in a publication by The Oregonian.

Jennie Rummell ’06 won a city council position in Dallas.

Eryn Latt ’09 has joined the Sherwood School District as an associate director of special programs.

Thomas Armstrong ’10 recently became the new associate dean of athletics at Grossmont College in El Cajon, Calif.

Carleton College in Minnesota has just hired Robert Barret ’10 as the full-time strength and conditioning coach for the Knights’ 20 varsity athletic programs.

Joining the Woodburn Police Department, Ezequiel Vasquez ’12 was sworn in on February 27.

Army Cpl. Bryce Wolford ’13 was presented with the Spirit of Service award at the American Legion National Convention in Cincinnati. The award recognizes active-duty military members who give back to their communities.

In remembrance


Irene M. Langston


Robert Neal Abrahamson
Charlotte Rae Cammack
Ervin Carl Garrison
Calvin Charles Peterson


Shirley Mae Klassen
Stephen Wayne Tow
Robert Dale Lady
Elizabeth “Betty” Swick
Wanda M. Wendt
Alyce Yoshikai


William H. “Bill” Deist
Charlotte Asplund Palmateer
Sally Jo Nims


Talana Christine Lyda Fairfax
Carol Morley


Alma Pacheco

Friends of WOU

Elva Buhler Shorack
Ronald David Templeman