MSU Executive Board 2013-2014


Carolina Reyes Activities Director

Hi my name is Carolina Reyes, but I like going by Caro. I am from Woodburn, Oregon, which seems to be well known because of the Outlets Malls. I am currently a Junior at WOU. I am working on a double major in Psychology and Humanities with a focus in Spanish and Communications. This is my first year as an MSU exec board, and I am really excited for what we have planned this year. A fun fact about me would be that I am Salvadorian, and that I am left handed. Also I randomly like to bake things, which does not happen often, and I love to cook and try new things.

Carolina Reyes

 



Briana Navarrete Social Membership Director

Hello my name is Briana Navarrete. I was born in Pasco, Washington but raised in Hermiston, Oregon which is a small town like four-five hours away from WOU. I am a Junior this year. My major is a Double Major Business and Spanish i am currently undecided if I want a minor. Fun facts about me is that I am the only child, I live on a farm with over five hundred animals, I love Mexican cheese, I eat it with anything!!

Briana Navarrete

 



Rosa Gomez Reyes Secretary

I was in born Cuatitlan, Mexico but I was raised here in good old Salem, Oregon. I am currently a sophomore at WOU. As of right now I am undeclared since I have not found my true calling yet but I am thinking about minoring in Spanish and probably becoming a translator but we will see what the future holds for me. A weird fact about myself is that I have an elephant obsession and I could eat chocolate any time of day any day.

Rosa Gomez

 


Jasmin Jimenez Freshmen Advocate

I was born in Los Angeles, California. I am current sophomore here at WOU and pursuing a degree in Criminal Justice with a minor in Sociology: My volunteer involvement expands to organization on campus such as; freshmen advocate for MSU, a mentor in the MCR program; and Corresponding Secretary, Expanding committee and New Member educator assistant in Kappa Delta Chi sorority here at Western Oregon University. After reaching my goal of graduating from WOU I would like to work with juveniles in our community. I am a very family orientated so my little hero is my little brother, Manuel. My favorite color is Tiffany blue. I love it! My favorite things to do in my spare time is search court cases, read about juvenile issues, shop, shop and more shopping, going out with friends, dance, and spend time with family.

Jay Jimenez

 


Laura Miranda Co-Freshmen Advocate

I'm from Salem, Oregon. I'm currently a sophomore here at WOU, pursuing a degree in psychology with a minor in sociology with an emphasis in community service. I'm part of the Multicultural Representatives and I work at Upward Bound as a tutor and office assistant. My aspirations is to travel the world and help children in need from other countries. Some interesting piece of information about me; I'm the only girl without her ears pierced and I also speak a little bit of French.

Jay Jimenez

 


 

Maria Vargas Campus Advocate

I am currently a Junior pursuing a double degree in Social Science with a focus in Criminal Justice and Spanish and a minor in Psychology. I am Upward Bound Head Tutor and office Assistant, I am part of the LADIES the sorority on campus, am a leader for Alternative Break, and I am an MCR. After graduating from WOU, I hope to attend graduate school. My future goals are to become a Juvenile Court Counselor, a translator, a missionary, and high school counselor, and hopefully one day have my own mentoring organization. My goal and passion in life is to help others and make a difference in their lives. My favorite color is pink. I love it! I like to read, hang out with friends, run, and love to shop!

Maria

 


Adaleni Lopez Fundraising Coordinator

I was born in Portland, Oregon but grew up my whole life in Mount Angel, Oregon. I love living in a small town and love attending WOU. I am currently a Junior at WOU and am pursuing a Social Science major and Spanish Minor. This is currently my second year on the MSU Exec Board and I love it. The beginning of this year I studied abroad in Segovia, Spain. That was a wonderful experience that helped me grow as a person. A fun fact about me is that I went to the top of the Eiffel Tower in Paris while abroad and I traveled to Italy. One of my biggest desires in life is to help in any community and people in need. I’d love to work for a non-profit organization once I graduate. I like to bake, garden, hang out with friends and most of all I love to take pictures and capture the many memories that happen in life.

Adaleni


Eunice Jones Assistant Fundraiser Coordinator

I am from Ghana, West Africa. I am a junior here at Western Oregon University. I am majoring in Community health with a minor in Human biology. I love to cook different kinds of food from different cultures.

Eunice Jones

 


Sylvia Garcia-Chavez Historian

I was born and raised in Salem, Oregon but also lived in California during my high school years. I am currently a sophomore pursuing a double degree in Social Science with a focus in Sociology and Spanish and a minor in Health. I have the biggest sweet tooth and I am the pickiest eater you will ever meet! Also, I can’t be fed after 8pm or I will get super hyper and giggly.

Sylvia Garcia

 


Luanne Carillo Public Relations

I was born in Dallas, OR so, Dallas, Independence, and Monmouth are my hometowns. I am currently in my 4th year at WOU and planning on staying a 5th year. I am studying a Double Degree in Community Health and Spanish with a Minor in Sociology: Community Service. Besides a student, I am also a student worker for two of my favorite offices! I am the Multicultural Representative Co-Coordinator at Multicultural Student Services & Programs office, and Volunteer Programs Assistant with Service Learning Career Development office. My volunteer involvement consists of; I am Fundraising Coordinator for MSU, Plus Team Leader, Member of Student Conduct Committee, and a member of KDChi which is a new and the first sorority on campus. Also, I have been involved in many other programs and organizations, so if you have a question about resource, I can probably answer it. My favorite color has always been Blue. But I go through different phases of blue, so at the moment my favorite color is Teal.  

Luanne

 


 

 

Anna Hernandez-Hunter Advisor

I grew up in Raisin City, California. My younger siblings were born when I was between the ages of 7-9, and it became my responsibility to care for them when the rest of my family went to work, so I never had much time for hobbies. However, I have always loved to read and growing up read anything I could get my hands on! My favorite author when I was in grade school was Judy Blume. I attend Western Oregon University from 91-95 and graduated with a BA in Secondary Education (my focus area: Spanish). I started working in the Multicultural Student Services & Programs Office during finals week of my last term as a student. I was initially hired as the MSSP Advisor and a year later had the opportunity to apply for the Director position. The rest, as they say, is history!

Anna
Main office: 503.838.8737 | Eamil: mssp@wou.edu