Skip to main content
Switch to text-only version
Get accessibility information and assistance



Select Class- and Program-related Highlights


An Honors wing of Ackerman Hall will open in Fall 2012 and will house thirty Honors students.


Students in Dr. Kimberly Jensen's Honors seminar on Oregon Women's Suffrage History created the Documents Project section of the Century of Action webpage. They also presented the results of their archival research and transcription at a special event at the Oregon State Capitol featuring Secretary of State Kate Brown and other dignitaries. (View the commemorative video of this class's work at (search for "Century of Action")) This professional activity continued the following year, too, with additional presentations at the Willamette Heritage Center and the state legislature, testifying in support of a resolution regarding the Oregon Women Suffrage Centennial.


Students in Dr. Erin Baumgartner's Honors biology class researched and proposed numerous sustainability measures that could be implemented on WOU's campus. These were subsequently presented to the Provost Office for deliberation and implementation where possible.


Students in Dr. Molly Mayhead's Communication and Civic Action class completed numerous projects bridging theory and practice. Project highlights included fundraisers to send students to Outdoor School, informational sessions about disposable water bottles and fair-trade products, and radio public service announcements about pet adoption.


Students in the Prison Writing seminar taught by Drs. Steve Gibbons and David Murphy not only read original works by Oregon inmates but also travelled to the Oregon State Penitentiary in Salem, where they discussed these works and other subjects with the inmates themselves.


Annually, students in the Honors theater class travel annually to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival to attend three plays.


Student and Faculty Awards


Julia McCullogh-Smith Award recipients in Honors (for outstanding graduating female undergraduate):

Delmer Dewey Award recipients in Honors (for outstanding graduating male undergraduate):

Pastega Award for Faculty Excellence (in Teaching and Scholarship) recipients participating in Honors:

Alumni Awards, Publications, and Distinctions



Honors Program

(503) 838-8519 | or e-mail: