Home » Faculty

Faculty

MUSIC DEPARTMENT FACULTY

 


Diane BaxterDr. Diane Baxter

PROFESSOR
Piano – Collaborative Piano – Ethnomusicology – Performance Anxiety
DMA | University of Oregon

APS 232 | 503-838-8542
baxterd@wou.edu
Pastega Award Recipient: 1993 & 2005

 

 


Tom BergeronDr. Tom Bergeron

PROFESSOR
DEPARTMENT HEAD
Woodwinds – American Vernacular Music – Brazilian Music
DMA | University of Oregon

SH 124 | 503-838-8802
berge@wou.edu
“Meet Tom Bergeron”
Pastega Award Presentation


Freymuth (1)Dr. Dirk Freymuth

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
Audio Production – Early Music Ensemble
DMA | University of Southern California

APS 233A | 503-838-8874
freymutd@wou.edu

 

 

HelppieDr. Kevin Helppie

PROFESSOR
Voice – Chamber Singers – Opera Workshop
DMA | University of Washington

APS 233B | 503-838-8876
helppik@wou.edu

 

 


Ike NailDr. James “Ike” Nail

PROFESSOR
Conducting – Western Oregon Winds – Western Oregon Symphony – Pre-Teaching
DMA | University of Texas, Austin

SH 102A | 503-838-8341
naili@wou.edu

 

 


Kevin WalczykDr. Kevin Walczyk

PROFESSOR
Composition – Jazz Arranging – Film Scoring
DMA | University of North Texas

APS 228 | 503-838-8274
keveli@wou.edu
Pastega Award Recipient: 1999 & 2015

 

 

Adjunct Faculty


Aaron Barnhartbarnharta@wou.edu | audio production

Cindi Bartels | c53bartels@efn.org | clarinet

Mike Bevington | misterb.mike@gmail.com | trombone

Cindy Dicken | SH 101 | dickenc@mail.wou.edu | Western Hemisphere Voices – Concert Choir – jazz/pop voice

John Doan | classical guitar

Bethany Evans | harphymns@hotmail.com | Harp | bethanyevansharp.com

Steve Funk | funks@wou.edu | bassoon

Dan Gaynor | gaynord@wou.edu | Western Hemisphere Orchestra, Pep Band & jazz piano

Jaimie Hallhall_jaimie@salkeiz.k12.or.us | trumpet

Lukas Heinheinl@wou.edu | saxophone

Mary Ruth Helppie | helppiem@wou.edu | horn

Dr. Solveig Holmquist | holmqus@wou.edu | musical theatre

Page Hundemer | page-music@comcast.net | acoustic & electric bass

Dr. Catherine Lee | catmlee@hotmail.com | oboe

Gordon Lee | leeg@wou.edu | jazz & popular music history – Mel Brown Jazz Camp

Mike Moore | mikem@thelmas.com | audio production

Jackie Morelli | morellj@wou.edu | piano & collaborative piano

Dr. Charles Mueller | muellerc@wou.edu | music history

Katherine Couch Parkskatherineparks10@gmail.com | violoncello

Karl Raschkes | karlraschkes@q.com | violin & viola

Dax Smith | smithjd@wou.edu | music education

Mike Snyder | mike@mikesnyder.net | drum set

Sean Turner | seanjacobturner@gmail.com | tuba

Dr. Carlos Velez | velezc@wou.edu | theory, composition & flute

Dr. Chris Whyte | whytecs@wou.edu | percussion

Christopher Woitach | cw@affmusic.com | jazz guitar


Music Department | Smith Hall | music@wou.edu | 503-838-8275