DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC FACULTY


DIANE BAXTER

Professor, Music
503-838-8542 | baxterd@wou.edu | APSC 232

DIRK FREYMUTH

Associate Professor, Music
503-838-8874 | freymutd@wou.edu | APSC 233A

KEVIN HELPPIE

Professor, Music
503-838-8876 | helppik@wou.edu | APSC 233B

KEITH KARNS

Professor, Music
503-838-8541 | karnsk@wou.edu | APSC 221

IKE NAIL

Professor, Music
503-838-8341 | naili@wou.edu | SH 102A

JAMES REDDAN

Assistant Professor, Music
503-838-8802 | reddanj@wou.edu | SH 124

CARLOS VELEZ

NTT Assistant Professor, Music
503-838-8437 | velezc@wou.edu | SH 101

KEVIN WALCZYK

Professor, Music
503-838-8274 | keveli@wou.edu | APSC 228

Diane BaxterDr. Diane Baxter

PROFESSOR: Piano – Collaborative Piano – Ethnomusicology – Performance Anxiety DMA | University of Oregon

APS 232 | 503-838-8542 baxterd@wou.edu

Pastega Award Recipient: 1993 & 2005

Freymuth (1)Dr. Dirk Freymuth

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR: Audio Production – Early Music Ensemble DMA | University of Southern California

APS 233A | 503-838-8874 freymutd@wou.edu

HelppieDr. Kevin Helppie

PROFESSOR: Voice – Opera Workshop DMA | University of Washington

APS 233B | 503-838-8876 helppik@wou.edu

Dr. Keith Karns

NTT ASSISTANT PROFESSOR: DIRECTOR OF INSTRUMENTAL JAZZ & POP STUDIES Jazz Orchestra – Latin Music Ensemble – Improvisation – Trumpet – Brass Ensemble DMA | University of North Texas

APSC 229 | 503-838-8541 karnsk@wou.edu

Ike NailDr. James “Ike” Nail

PROFESSOR: DIRECTOR OF INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC Conducting – Western Oregon Winds – Western Oregon Symphony – Instrumental Music Education DMA | University of Texas, Austin

SH 102A | 503-838-8341 naili@wou.edu

Dr. James ReddanDr. James Reddan

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR: DIRECTOR OF CHOIRS & CHORAL CONDUCTING Choral Ensembles – Choral Conducting – Choral Music Education DMA | Boston University

SH 124 | 503-838-8802 reddanj@wou.edu

Dr. Carlos VelezDr. Carlos Velez

NTT ASSISTANT PROFESSOR: Theory – Aural Skills – Composition – Flute Performance DMA | Cleveland Institute of Music

SH 101 | 503-838-8437 velezc@wou.edu

Dr. Kevin WalczykDr. Kevin Walczyk

PROFESSOR: Composition – Jazz Arranging – Film Scoring – Notation DMA | University of North Texas

APS 228 | 503-838-8274 keveli@wou.edu

Pastega Award Recipient: 1999 & 2015

 

 

 


NTT Faculty & INSTRUCTORS


JACQUELINE MORELLI

NTT Asst. Professor/Adjunct Instructor, Music
503-838-8276 | morellj@wou.edu | APSC 231

CHRISTOPHER WOITACH

NTT Instructor, Music
503-838-9365 | woitachc@wou.edu | SH 102B

Additional contact information and links for NTT Faculty & Instructors including professional websites:
Aaron Barnhartbarnharta@wou.edu | audio production
Cindi Bartels | bartelsc@wou.edu | clarinet
Kiersten Garber | music@wou.edu | strings & string ensemble
Mike Hettwer | hettwerm@wou.edu | horn
Dr. Kellen King | music@wou.edu | percussion & musicianship
Mike Moore | mikem@thelmas.com | audio production
Dr. Charles Mueller | muellerc@wou.edu | musicology & contemporary readings
Ben Protheroe | protheroeb@wou.edu | athletic band & drumline
Sam Reid | reids@wou.edu | saxophone
Sopon Suwannakit | music@wou.edu | jazz piano & jazz history
Ethan Wilson | ewilson09@wou.edu | audio production


Music Department | Smith Hall | music@wou.edu | 503-838-8275