MUSIC DEPARTMENT FACULTY


Diane BaxterDr. Diane Baxter

PROFESSOR: Piano – Collaborative Piano – Ethnomusicology – Performance Anxiety DMA | University of Oregon

APS 232 | 503-838-8542 baxterd@wou.edu

Pastega Award Recipient: 1993 & 2005

Freymuth (1)Dr. Dirk Freymuth

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR: Audio Production – Early Music Ensemble DMA | University of Southern California

APS 233A | 503-838-8874 freymutd@wou.edu

HelppieDr. Kevin Helppie

PROFESSOR: Voice – Opera Workshop DMA | University of Washington

APS 233B | 503-838-8876 helppik@wou.edu

Dr. Keith Karns

NTT ASSISTANT PROFESSOR: DIRECTOR OF INSTRUMENTAL JAZZ & POP STUDIES Jazz Orchestra – Latin Music Ensemble – Improvisation – Trumpet – Brass Ensemble DMA | University of North Texas

APSC 229 | 503-838-8275 karnsk@wou.edu

Ike NailDr. James “Ike” Nail

PROFESSOR: DIRECTOR OF INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC Conducting – Western Oregon Winds – Western Oregon Symphony – Instrumental Music Education DMA | University of Texas, Austin

SH 102A | 503-838-8341 naili@wou.edu

Dr. James ReddanDr. James Reddan

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR: DIRECTOR OF CHOIRS & CHORAL CONDUCTING Choral Ensembles – Choral Conducting – Choral Music Education DMA | Boston University

SH 124 | 503-838-8802 reddanj@wou.edu

Dr. Carlos VelezDr. Carlos Velez

NTT ASSISTANT PROFESSOR: Theory – Aural Skills – Composition – Flute Performance DMA | Cleveland Institute of Music

SH 101 | 503-838-8275 velezc@wou.edu

Dr. Kevin WalczykDr. Kevin Walczyk

PROFESSOR: Composition – Jazz Arranging – Film Scoring – Notation DMA | University of North Texas

APS 228 | 503-838-8274 keveli@wou.edu

Pastega Award Recipient: 1999 & 2015


Adjunct Faculty

GORDON LEE

NTT Instructor, Music
503-838-8388 | leeg@wou.edu | SH 106

JACQUELINE MORELLI

NTT Instructor, Music
503-838-8276 | morellj@wou.edu | APSC 231

CHRISTOPHER WOITACH

NTT Instructor, Music
503-838-9365 | woitachc@wou.edu | SH 102B

Aaron Barnhartbarnharta@wou.edu | audio production
Cindi Bartels | c53bartels@efn.org | clarinet
Lauren Fraley | fraley@wou.edu | piano
Mike Hettwer | hettwerm@wou.edu | horn
Terry Hsu | hsutv@yahoo.com | violin
Page Hundemer | page-music@comcast.net | acoustic & electric bass
Gordon Lee | leeg@wou.edu | jazz & popular music history
Mike Moore | mikem@thelmas.com | audio production
Jackie Morelli | morellj@wou.edu | piano & collaborative piano
Dr. Charles Mueller | muellerc@wou.edu | music history
Paul Owen | owenp@wou.edu | percussion
Katherine Couch Parkskatherineparks10@gmail.com | violoncello
Ben Protheroe | bnprotheroe@gmail.com | pep band & drumline
Karl Raschkes | karlraschkes@q.com | violin & viola
Joseph Ready | ready.tuba@gmail.com | tuba
Samuel Reid | reids@wou.edu | saxophone
Dax Smith | smithjd@wou.edu | music education
Ethan Wilson | ewilson09@wou.edu | audio production


Music Department | Smith Hall | music@wou.edu | 503-838-8275