text only
WOU Logo
JavaScript is Disabled in your Browser; Not all features are available.

See for yourself whether WOU is right for you. Freshman, Transfer, Graduate and International Student Information Locate any type of information on our site.

Department of Earth &

Physical Sciences

About the Department
Mailing Address:
    Department of Earth & Physical Sciences
    Western Oregon University
    345 N. Monmouth Ave.
    Monmouth, Oregon 97361

Department Chair: Dr. Jeffrey Templeton

Office Location: Natural Science Building, NS 211

Phone: (503) 838-8858 (voice)     (503) 838-8072 (fax)

Email: templej@wou.edu

Department Faculty & Staff

Professor - Dr. Arlene Courtney, Chemistry; Dr. Pete Poston, Chemistry

Associate Professor - Dr. M. Rahim Kazerouni, Chemistry; Dr. Jeffrey Templeton, Geology

Assistant Professor - Dr. Jeffrey Myers, Geology; Dr. Stephen Taylor, Geology; Dr. William Schoenfeld, Physics

Instructor -  Don Ellingson, General Science; Rebecca Bliesner, Chemistry; Phillip Wade, Geology; Daniel Myers, General Science; John Rehm, Physics, Joel Rotert, General Science. 

Professor Emeritus - Dr. Ray Broderson, Geology; Dr. Jay Evett, Physics; M. M. Jaffer, Chemistry; Dr. Anton Postl, Physical Science; Dr. Guy Rooth, Geology; Dr. Donald White, Physics

Chemical Storekeeper - Sharon Clinton

Academic Programs

Through the Department of Earth & Physical Sciences, you can explore the following:
BA/BS degrees are offered in the following areas:


Earth Science

Natural Science
  • Chemistry/Physics Option
  • Molecular Biology/Biochemistry Option
To earn a degree in one of the areas within the department, students must complete the major requirements in one field and a minor (including at least 15 upper-division hours) in a second academic area.

An Integrated Science Major leading to a BA/BS degree in Secondary Education is also available through the department.



 Western Oregon University Contact Information
Last Updated: Monday, 16 February, 2004 11:48 AM