Skip to main content
Switch to text-only version
Get accessibility information and assistance


Division of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Biology Faculty and Staff

Click on faculty or staff names to read more about each individual.
Contact faculty or staff by clicking email addresses.

Faculty


Specialty, Advising, Research, and Contact Information


Michael Baltzley, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Specialties: Cell Biology, Comparative Anatomy and Physiology, Neurobiology
Advises: Pre-Medicine
Office:NS 219; Email: baltzlem@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8832

Erin Baumgartner, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Department Head, Biology
Specialties: Science Education, Fish Biology, Behavioral Ecology
Advises: General Biology Emphasis, Zoology Emphasis, Elementary and Secondary Education in Biology
Office: NS 117; Email: baumgare@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8348

Lindsay Biga, Ph.D., Non Tenure Track Assistant Professor
Specialties: Amphibian Population Ecology, Conservation Biology, Aquatic Toxicology
Office: NS 118; Email: bigal@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8491

Karen Bledsoe, Ph.D., Non Tenure Track Assistant Professor
Specialties: Plant Systematics & Ecology, Science Education, Adult Learning in Science, K12-University Outreach, Teacher Professional Development
Office: NS 220; Email: bledsoek@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8036

Sarah Boomer, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Microbiology
Advises: Pre-Dental, Pre-Dental Hygiene, Molecular/Cell Emphasis
Office: NS 221; Email: boomers@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8209

James Dawson, Non Tenure Track Instructor
Specialties:
Office: NS 002; Email: dawsonj@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-9225

Bryan Dutton, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Plant Systematics, Evolution
Advises: Botany Emphasis, Pre-Medicine, Pre-Optometry
Office: NS 021C; Email: duttonb@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8452

Karen Haberman, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Specialties: Invertebrate Zoology, Marine Biology, Aquatic Ecology
Advises: Pre-Medical Technician/Laboratory Science, Pre-Veterinary Medicine, Ecology Emphasis, General Biology Emphasis, Zoology Emphasis
Office: NS 001; Email: habermk@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8478

Amy Harwell, Ph.D., Non Tenure Track Assistant Professor
Specialties:
Office: DFSC 118; Email: harwella@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8891

Ava Howard, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Specialties: Plant Physiology, Plant Ecology
Advises: Botany Emphasis, Ecology Emphasis, Pre-Physician Assistant
Office: NS 120; Email: howarda@wou.edu; Phone: (503)838-8702

Kristin Latham, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Specialties: Genetics, Developmental Biology, Molecular Biology
Advises: Pre-Pharmacy, Molecular/Cell Emphasis
Office: NS 223; Email: lathamk@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8868

Michael LeMaster, Ph.D., Professor
Specialties: Vertebrate Anatomy and Physiology, Chemical Ecology, Endocrinology
Advises: Pre-Nursing
Office:DFSC 115; Email: lemastm@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8136

Scott Macdonald, Non Tenure Track Instructor
Specialties: Human Anatomy and Physiology
Office: DFSC 117; Email: macdonas@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8337

Jeffrey Snyder, Ph.D., Non Tenure Track Assistant Professor
Specialties: Ecology, Environmental History, Avian Ecology, Endangered Species Conservation & Restoration
Office: NS 222; Email: snyderj@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8224

Staff


Piper Mueller-Warrant, B.S., Biology Lab Preparator
Biology 200 Series, Biology Department Laboratory Coordination
Office: NS 121; Email: muellerp@wou.edu; Phone: (503) 838-8859

Julie Grammer, B.S., Biology/Earth Science Lab Preparator
Biology 100 Series Laboratory Preparator
Office: NS 118; Email: grammerj@wou.edu; Phone:(503) 838-8877

Emeritus Faculty


Irja Galvan, Ph.D.
J. Morris Johnson, Ph.D.
David McCorkle, Ph.D.
Lowell Spring, Ph.D.
Robert Turner, Ph.D.

Contact

Division of Natural Sciences and Mathematics (503) 838-8206 | or e-mail: stuntznerj@wou.edu

MissionWestern Oregon University | 345 N. Monmouth Ave. | Monmouth OR 97361 | 503-838-8000(V/TTY) | Admissions 1-877-877-1593 | webmaster@wou.edu Text only
attitude.wou.edu Remote IP: 54.211.137.77 ((none!))