Home » People » Honors Committee


Honors Committee


The Faculty Senate Honors Committee meets on the third Tuesday of each month that the university is in session. In addition to faculty, class-elected honors students are also members — one of the distinguishing elements of the committee. The committee provides a forum to address issues or ideas with the goal of improving the Honors Program. Below is the Honors Committee charge, approved by Faculty Senate in 2010:

“The Faculty Senate Honors Committee serves in a review and advisory capacity with regard to the college’s academic Honors Program and its director. The committee will assist and advise the Honors Director with the evaluation of thesis proposals, the selection of Honors courses, and additional evaluation, Honors, and assessment requests. The Honors Committee is the curriculum committee for the Honors Program and makes its recommendations directly to the Senate Executive Committee.”

The Honors Committee is one of three advisory Faculty Senate committees. Its structure derives from a desire for diversity as well as the participation of academic divisions within the program. The structure and current members of the Honors Committee are:


WOU Faculty Representatives:


College of Education Seats (2):

Division of Health & Exercise Science or Special Education: Dr. Bob Hautala, Health & Exercise Science (chair)

Division of Teacher Education: Dr. Dana Ulveland

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Seats (4):

Creative Arts: Dr. Kent Neely, department of Theater & Dance

Humanities: Dr. Emily Plec, department of Communication Studies

Natural Science: Dr. Karen Haberman, department of Biology

Social Science: Dr. Elizabeth Swedo, department of History

Honors Program Director:

Dr. Gavin Keulks, department of English/Linguistics/Writing

Optional Seats (0-2), chosen solely from the divisions of Behavioral Sciences, Business, Computer Science, or the Library:

Dr. Jaime M. Cloud, department of Psychological Sciences

      Dr. Frederick Oerther, division of Business

WOU Honors Student Representatives:


Sophomore Class Representative: Daniel Woolf

Junior Class Representative: BillyAnn Stempel

Senior Class Representative: Kalli Ramsey

Honors Program Specialist (and alumna): Alissa McAlpine





Honors Program

(503) 838-8519 | or e-mail: honors@wou.edu