The German Club was founded in 2000 to promote awareness of and interest in German-speaking cultures and German language on campus and in our community. It supports the study of German through social and academic events and raises funds for the annual German Club Scholarship. Apply for German Club Scholarship

Membership is open to all. There are no Club dues.

 

2017 scholarship recipient

Club Council

The Club is governed by a Council of four elected each spring. It works closely with the faculty advisor and organizes Club events.

2017-2018 Club Council

President

Alyssa Jackson

ajackson17@mail.wou.edu

 

Vice-President

Cougar Griffes

cgriffes16@mail.wou.edu

Treasurer

Jill Ketcham

jketcham16@mail.wou.edu

Secretary

Harley Dwyer

hdwyer17@mail.wou.edu

 

Delegate

Cassie Knebel

cknebel15@mail.wou.edu

 

Delegate

Buddy Dannen

11ldannen@gmail.com

 

 

 

Winter Bargarten

Events

The Club sponsors a variety of events including Oktoberfest, Winterfest, Advent Calendar sales, homemade Valentine Cookie sale, and Maifest.  Proceeds from these activities fund the Annual Scholarship.  All events are open to the public.

 

Scholarships

$2000 is awarded yearly to qualified students in German: $1000 by the German Club, and $1000 by the Friends of Gentle House.  Applications are at:

Apply for German Club Scholarship

 

 

CONTACT US

German Program

503-838-8715 | or e-mail: Dr. Gudrun Hoobler hoobleg@wou.edu | Location: Todd 351