How to enroll and unenroll users in Moodle

Overview:

This tutorial demonstrates how to add or remove users from a course. Students will be automatically enrolled in their registered Moodle courses a week prior to the start of an academic term. The “Enrolling Users” process is useful when students have enrolled after a term has begun. Whereas, the “Unenrolling Users” process is useful to keep a course roster current as students drop the course.

Contents:

Enrolling Users

Unenrolling Users

Process: Enrolling Users

  1. Open the Moodle course
  2. Navigate to the “Course administration” block (left side)
  3. Select the “User” option to expand the menu (see image below)
  4. From the expanded menu select “Enrolled users”
  5. Find and select the “Enrol users” button (top right corner)
    a. At this point the “Enrol users” list will populate
  6. From the “Assign roles” drop-down menu select a role for the new user (see image below)
  7. Next you will need to perform a user search (see image below)
    a. Option 1: Enter a first or last name in the “Search” text box b. Option 2: Enter a WOU email in the “Search” text box
  8. Select the “Search” button
  9. To add a user select the “Enrol” button (right side)
    10. Select the “Finish enrolling users” button
    Updated 11/16/2016 1

Process: Unenrolling Users

  1. Open the Moodle course
  2. Navigate to the “Course administration” block (left side)
  3. Select the “User” option to expand the menu (see image below)
  4. From the expanded menu select “Enrolled users”
  5. Locate the name of the student you wish to unenroll
  6. Click the X under the “Enrolment methods” column (right side)
    Updated 11/16/2016 2
  7. A confirmation dialog box will display, select “Confirm” to unenroll the user

Q