Can I take online classes at Western Oregon University if I don’t live in Oregon?

Approved States
Students living in any of the following states and territories may take online / distance education courses offered by Western Oregon University.

SARA Members

Map of member states Opens in new window

Alabama Indiana Nevada South Dakota
Alaska Iowa New Hampshire Tennessee
Arizona Kansas New Jersey Texas
Arkansas Kentucky New Mexico U.S. Virgin Islands
Colorado Louisiana New York Utah
Connecticut Maine North Carolina Vermont
Delaware Maryland North Dakota Virginia
District of Columbia Michigan Ohio Washington
Florida Minnesota Oklahoma West Virginia
Georgia Mississippi Oregon Wisconsin
Hawai’i Missouri Pennsylvania Wyoming
Idaho Montana Rhode Island
Illinois Nebraska South Carolina
Other Approved States


Other States
If you live in any of the following states or territories, please contact us:

American Samoa Guam Northern Mariana Islands
District of Columbia Massachusetts Puerto Rico


Questions? Please contact WOU’s State Authorization manager, Beverly West:, 503-838-8796



Center for Academic Innovation

503-838-8483 | or e-mail: | Location: ITC 205