SSA Staff:

 

Niki Weight – Director

weightn@wou.edu

503-838-9391

I joined the Student Success and Advising team in August 2018. I have a passion for helping students achieve success and find their path. Originally from Utah, I have always loved Oregon and I am excited to explore my new home with my husband and daughters.

 

 

 

 

Lizzy Harman (Balding) – Assistant Director

baldinge@wou.edu

503-838-8057

I am the Interim Assistant Director of Student Success and enjoy meeting with all students, hearing about successes and struggles. Born and raised in Honolulu, Hawaii, I like to spend my free time outdoors, exploring the natural beauty of Oregon with my husband.

 

Adrian Trujillo – Bilingual Academic Success Advisor

trujilloa@wou.edu

503-838-8587

I am the Bilingual Academic Success Advisor with Student Success and Advising. I am a native to Independence and Monmouth Oregon. I graduated from Oregon State with a bachelors in Human Development and Family Science as a first-generation, non-traditional student. I am excited to work with all students and help them explore their opportunities and support their goals. I enjoy quality time with my family, movies with my three sons and crafting with my fiancé.

 

Kelly Rush – Academic Success Advisor

rushk@wou.edu

503-838-8576

I am a WOU alumnus and have a background working at both the high school and college level. I was a first generation, low-income student while at WOU and feel that I can bring insight and support to the students I work with.

 

 

 

Melissa Hinzman – Office Coordinator and Academic Advisor

hinzmanm@wou.edu

503-838-9354

I am the Office Coordinator and an Academic Advisor for students interested in the pre-nursing pathway, though I welcome students who may be exploring their academic options or those with questions about WOU’s general education requirements.  A native Oregonian and WOU Alum, I enjoy traveling, reading, listening to music of all genres, and spending time with my husband and our two cats.

 

Ron Mercer – Academic Success Advisor

mercerr@wou.edu

503-838-8506

I am an Academic Success Advisor with Student Success and Advising who focuses on helping exploratory students find their path here at WOU. I am from Michigan and received my bachelors in Urban and Regional Planning from Eastern Michigan University. I like to spend time watching movies, playing video games, and going on adventures with my wife.

 

Jon Breland- Academic Success Intern

brelandj@wou.edu

503-838-9371

I am an Intern at Student Success and Advising where I currently work as an Advisor to assist students with various needs related to their academic progress and the achievement of various goals. I look forward to working collaboratively with various students on Western’s campus in order to better support them as they attempt to navigate their college experience here at WOU.

 

 

 

 

 

Tutoring Coordinator – Vacant

 

 

CONTACT US

Student Success and Advising

(503) 838-8428 | or e-mail: advising@wou.edu or studentsuccess@wou.edu | Location: Advising Center