Our intent at Western Oregon University is to provide reliable and convenient parking services for employees and students. The rules and regulations set forth in this brochure are for the safety and benefit of everyone on campus. I encourage you to read this brochure thoroughly and follow its guidelines. Questions, concerns and appeals should be directed to Parking Services in the Cashier’s Office.
W. Jay Carey
Director of Public Safety
Approximately 2,400 individual parking spaces are available on the 157-acre
Western Oregon University campus for the convenience of faculty, staff,
and guests; 20 paved lots, strategically located, are always
open. Metered spaces for guests and short-term parking are marked in each
Use of parking lots is extended to all employees and students of Western
Oregon University. Authority to establish regulations governing the use of
motor vehicles on WOU’s campus is derived
from Oregon Revised Statute 352.360, action by the Oregon State Board of
Higher Education pursuant to such statute, and Oregon Administrative Rule
Chapter 574 Division 85. Enforcement of these regulations is necessary to
minimize congestion, maintain and enhance safety and security, and maximize
the use of existing parking facilities. Permits
are required except in metered spaces. Permits are available for purchase
from the Cashier’s
Office in the Administration Building.
General Parking Regulations
All members of the University community are responsible to read and know the regulations for driving and parking on campus. Any questions regarding these regulations should be addressed to Parking Services at 503-838-8267 or email@example.com.
Parking on campus
Driving on campus
8. The speed limit on all campus parking lots is 10 miles per hour.
9. Observe speed limits, barricades, bicycle lanes, crosswalks, traffic signs and disabled spaces.
10. Driving or parking vehicles, bicycles, motorcycles, mopeds, scooters, or other motorized vehicles on sidewalks and
lawns is prohibited (service vehicles exempted).
11. Metered spaces are for drivers who do not possess a valid campus permit. Unless there is valid time on the meter,
permitted and "E" plate vehicles may not park in metered spaces. Vehicles at meters are checked and subject to
citation every two hours from 6:00 a.m. Monday through 6:00 p.m. Friday.
Obtaining a Permit
A variety of permits are available to suit the various parking needs of faculty, staff, students and guests. Permits are serialized and must be used on the vehicle that a driver registers at the time of purchase. There are several types of permits which may be purchased.
Decal permits are now available for purchase on-line. Decal Permits have an adhesive backing and must be permanently placed on the outside of the vehicle on the left rear bumper or left rear windshield to be valid and avoid citation. Decal permits are available to faculty, staff and students as follows:
A. Faculty/Staff - These permits allow individuals who work on campus to park in all lots except Lots J*, J Loop, and N.
B. Student Resident - These permits are issued to individuals living on campus. They are valid 24 hours a day in Lots G, J*, J Loop, and P. (NOTE: After 4:30 p.m. daily and on weekends, you may park for short-term purposes in other lots on campus while surrounding buildings are open for business.) All other lots are prohibited. (Lot N is reserved for Family Housing residents only. Reserved spaces in Lot J are reserved for Alderview residents only. All of these areas require a special parking permit be displayed.) Alderview residents must have a primary permit for each vehicle. Secondary permits are not allowed for Alderview residents.
C. Student Commuter - These permits allow students who commute to campus to park in all lots except J*, J Loop, and N.
D. Car Pool Permit - Car pool permits are available to groups of two or more people. One permit will be issued to be shared by the drivers/vehicles. Arrangements must be made through the Cashiers Office and all vehicles are to be registered at the time the permit is issued. No alternate vehicle permits are allowed with a car pool permit. If an additional vehicle is driven or the original permit forgotten, a day permit must be purchased. If an additional vehicle is added at a later time, a fee will be charged.
E. Additional Vehicle Permit - If you periodically drive an alternate vehicle, you may purchase an additional permit with proof of original vehicle registration. Both vehicles must be registered to you or your parents. If the permitted vehicle is registered to another student/staff/faculty or their family your account will automatically be charged the amount of the full year permit at the time the permit was purchased. If both vehicles are on campus at the same time, original full year permits are required on each vehicle. You may be cited for misuse of a permit if you do not have a registered full-year permit on file. All permits must be returned if the owner requests a refund.
F. Motorcycle Permits - Special permits are available for purchase when parking in special motorcycle stalls, however a regular full-year permit must be purchased if using a regular vehicle space. If you purchase a Motorcycle Permit as your primary permit, you may not purchase an Additional Vehicle Permit for a vehicle (i.e., car, truck), but you may purchase one for an additional motorcycle.
G. Replacement Permits - A replacement permit is required to be purchased for a new vehicle (if the old one is sold), if your permit is lost or stolen, or vehicle is damaged requiring a new permit. Permits are not interchangeable between vehicles. The replacement permit must be returned if the owner requests a refund.
H. Emeritus permit - Retired faculty or staff with at least 10 years of service may apply to receive one free parking permit. Any additional permits must be purchased. No current employee or student may use an emeritus permit.
I. Board member permit - Any board members that are current staff, faculty or students are not eligible to receive a board member permit.
J. Show Vehicle - Show vehicles may be issued a dash permit upon request and payment of proper fee. This permit is valid only on the registered vehicle and by arrangements made at the Cashiers Office.
K. Car Dealer - Permits are available to holders of car dealer licenses. One permit will be issued as a dash permit. A primary vehicle must be regisetred with the Cashiers Office at the time the permit is issued. When a different vehicle is driven, Parking Services must be notified before the permit is used. When a vehicle is sold, Parking Services must be notified in writing within 10 working days of the date of sale.
* The west section of Lot J, beyond tree line, is open to all valid permit holders.
Decal Permit Fees:
A. Full year permit (Oct 1 - Sept. 30). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $81.00
Optional Hangtag . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$12.00
B. Winter-Summer Permit. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..$66.00
C. Spring-Summer Permit. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..$51.00
D. Summer permit . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $41.00
E. Motorcycle permit (Oct. 1 to Sept. 30) . . . . . . . . . . . . $37.00
F. Replacement Permit. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$10.00
G. Additional Permit . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$10.00
Miscellaneous Paper Dangler Permits:
- Term Permit (12 weeks). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $41.00
- Monthly Permit (up to 31 days). . . . . . . .. . . $27.00
- Weekly Permit (five days). . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$10.00
- Daily Permit. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . $2.00
Loaner Vehicle Permit
Loaner Vehicle Permit - If you have a full-year permit, you may park an alternate vehicle on campus for up to 15 days per year at no extra cost. The loaner vehicle permit may be obtained at the Cashiers Office, Campus Public Safety, or the Residential Service Center. After 15 days, the owner will be notified. At this time, a second vehicle permit or a day permit must be purchased to park on campus. All days used over the allotted 15 days will be charged to your account. Those that purchased the hangtag option are not allowed to get the loaner permit.
A. Parent Permits - Permits are available at the Cashiers Office or Public Safety at no charge, are valid for 10 days per term and are only issued to parents.
B. Conference/Workshop Permits - Departments or organizations holding or sponsoring workshops, seminars, meetings or events are responsible for parking permits for participants seven days a week. Group parking rates and permits are available at the Cashiers Office and are to be arranged in advance.
Faculty and staff may take advantage of the Payroll Deduction Plan. To use this plan, you must apply for your permit before October 2. You may select a one time deduction or make payments over three months. The secondary permit may be paid using payroll deduction one time only. You have the option of pre-tax or post tax. If you choose pre-tax you will not be eligible for a permit refund. (You are encouraged to pick up permits in person to avoid lost permits in the mail.)
Related Parking Information
Vehicle Assists - Campus officers may assist drivers with battery jumps, unlocks, flat tires and gas can loans if the vehicle is parked on campus property with a valid permit. Drivers must sign a release of any liability to Western Oregon University or its employees. Identification must be provided and the driver present at the scene.
Vehicle Messages - If a motorist wishes to inform an officer or attendant about a vehicle or arrangements regarding parking, he/ she must contact Parking Services or Campus Public Safety with the information to avoid citation. Officers are not at liberty to respond to notes left on vehicles to avoid a citation.
Recreational Vehicles (RV’s) - City of Monmouth ordinance prohibits RV’s and trailers from parking overnight for the purpose of staying or dwelling in the vehicle while parked on campus. Temporary arrangements will be made in a designated area for day use only.
Appeals - Persons wishing to appeal a citation may have it reviewed administratively or request to appear in person before the Parking Review Committee (fall through spring terms only.) Full payment must occur prior to appealing the citation. All appeals must be received at Parking Services within 10 business days of the citation. Appeal forms may be obtained at the Cashiers Office. (Appeals will not be reviewed after 10 business days.)
Parking Review Committee - The Parking Review Committee is comprised of faculty, staff and students. They are an advisory group to Parking Services and review citation appeals, and meet only fall through spring terms. Parking recommendations may be submitted to: Parking Review Committee, Parking Services, Western Oregon University, 345 N. Monmouth Ave., Monmouth, OR 97361.
Multiple Citations - When a vehicle has been issued a citation and the driver is aware of it and does not take steps to correct the violation immediately, a second citation may be issued.
Unpaid Fines - Failure to pay fines will result in fines being placed on accounts receivable (subject to interest on account balance) and notification to Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles, Oregon Department of Revenue and collection agencies when applicable. A $10 fee is added if the fine is not paid within 10 business days of the issue date of the citation.
Towing/Booting - Vehicles may be booted or towed at the owner’s expense for unpaid citations; stolen or misused permit; arrest for criminal trespass or in violation of a ORS criminal incident; if an emergency exists; blocking vehicle or pedestrian traffic; and/or abandoned vehicle.
Oregon Military Academy Parking Lot (Lot O) - We are allowed parking Monday through Thursday from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. and Friday from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. Overnight parking is prohibited. Parking is reserved for military personnel only from Friday 5 p.m. through Monday 7 a.m.
Overnight Parking - Because of limited parking spaces on campus and to manage the parking needs of the entire parking community, overnight parking is allowed in exterior lots only. No overnight parking is allowed in lots A, F, H, I, O at any time without authorization from Parking Services. Citations may be issued.
Compact Vehicle Parking - Vehicles parked in spaces marked "COMPACT" must not exceed 5 feet 6 inches in height and 15 feet 6 inches in length.
Temporary Disability Permits for mobility-type injury or illness may be issued upon request from Parking Services. If requested for more than a week, a note from your physician is required.
Permit Removal - If you need to remove a decal permit from your vehicle for any reason, apply heat to the permit using a hair dryer or similar device and begin peeling from one corner. It should remove easily, however it may not be legally placed on another vehicle. Return the permit to Parking Services if applying for a replacement permit or prorated permit refund.
Permit Refunds - Refunds for decal full-year permits are provided on a prorated basis through winter term only with the return of all permits. Pre-tax payroll deduction applicants are not eligible for permit refund. Term, month, secondary and replacement permits are not refundable.
Penalties and Fines Fine*
DECAL PERMITS MUST BE PERMANENTLY PLACED ON LEFT REAR BUMPER OR LEFT REAR WINDSHIELD TO BE VALID AND AVOID CITATION.
PAPER PERMITS MUST BE DISPLAYED ON REAR VIEW MIRROR OR DRIVER SIDE DASH WITH INFORMATION VISIBLE TO THE OUTSIDE.
IF A PERMIT IS NOT COMPLETELY VISIBLE, A CITATION MAY BE ISSUED.
Copyright © 1998 Western Oregon University.
Direct suggestions, comments, and questions about this page to: firstname.lastname@example.org